advice2Go

   Home      Links
USEFUL LINKS
 
advice2Go has assembled almost an hundred of the most useful links for fundraisers and voluntary and public sector professionals. The links listed here offer:

General resources – everything from street maps, explaining jargon and acronyms, writing plain English, sites for specialist voluntary and public sector publications… essential sites that you always wish were to hand and are never quite sure where to find

Funding information – sources of both free and subscription based sites for statutory, voluntary, corporate and individual funding and philanthropy information

Second tier and umbrella bodies – sources of generic support for the public and voluntary sector, some of it discipline specific

National and regional government departments

 
USA Associate Holly Hudson -  http://www.hollyhudson.net/ 

General Resources

·         Acronym search engine – http://www.acronymia.com

·         British Library – http://www.bl.uk/   

·         CASWeb – Community Advice online – http://www.casweb.org/

·         Community Interest Companies (CIC Regulator) – http://www.cicregulator.gov.uk/   

·         Community Matters – http://www.communitymatters.org.uk/   

·         Plain English Campaign – http://www.plainenglish.co.uk/  

·         Prospecting for Gold – http://www.prospectingforgold.co.uk/  

·         Social Enterprise Coalition – http://www.socialenterprise.org.uk/Default.aspx  

·         Street Map – http://www.streetmap.co.uk/  

·         Third Sector Magazine (online) – http://www.thirdsector.co.uk/  

·         UK Advicefinder  http://www.advicefinder.org.uk/help.asp?pt=1

 
Funding information

·         Arts & Business –  http://www.artsandbusiness.org.uk/

·         Big Lottery Fund – http://www.biglotteryfund.org.uk/

·         Business in the Community – http://www.bitc.org.uk/

·         Capacity builders – http://www.capacitybuilders.org.uk/  

·         Charities Aid Foundation – http://www.cafonline.org/  

·         Charity Bank – http://www.charitybank.org/  

·         Charities Information Bureau – http://www.fit4funding.org.uk/  

·         Citizen Space – connecting people to decision making – http://www.citizenspace.co.uk/  

·         Community Service Volunteers – http://www.csv.org.uk/  

·         European Foundation Centre – http://www.efc.be/  

·         European Grants – http://ec.europa.eu/grants/index_en.htm  

·         Forbes – http://www.forbes.com/lists/  

·         Funding Information Centre (US) – http://www.fic-ftw.org/  

·         Fundraising Standards Board – http://www.frsb.org.uk/  

·         Futurebuilders – http://www.futurebuilders-england.org.uk/  

·         Give Now – http://www.givenow.org/  

·         Grants for Individuals – http://www.grantsforindividuals.org.uk/Default.aspx  

·         In Kind Direct – http://www.inkinddirect.org/  

·         Reach – volunteer skills matching – http://www.reach-online.org.uk/  

·         Sunday Times Rich List – http://www.timesonline.co.uk/richlist/start/0,,2005-1,00.html  

·         Triodos Bank – http://www.triodos.co.uk/  

·         Trust Funding – http://www.trustfunding.org.uk/Default.aspx  

·         Trustee responsibilities – http://www.charity-commission.gov.uk/supportingcharities/trustee1.asp  

·         UK Fundraising – http://www.fundraising.co.uk/  

·         Unity Trust Bank plc – http://www.unity.uk.com/  

 
2nd tier and umbrella bodies

·         Association of Chief Executives of Voluntary Organisations – http://www.acevo.org.uk/  

·         Charity Finance Directors’ Group – http://www.cfdg.org.uk/cfdg/cfdg.asp  

·         Community Action Network – http://www.can-online.org.uk/  

·         Community Foundation Network – http://www.communityfoundations.org.uk/  

·         Development Trusts Association – http://www.dta.org.uk/  

·         Direct Marketing Association – http://www.dma.org.uk/content/home.asp  

·         National Association of Citizens Advice Bureaux – http://www.nacab.org.uk/  

·         National Council for Voluntary Organisations – http://www.ncvo-vol.org.uk/  

·         Women’s Resource Centre – http://www.wrc.org.uk/  

·         National Association for Voluntary & Community Action – http://www.navca.org.uk/  

 
Third Sector support and regulatory bodies

·         Charity Commission – http://www.charity-commission.gov.uk/  

·         Directory of Social Change – http://www.dsc.org.uk/   

·         European Association for Planned Giving – http://www.plannedgiving.co.uk/  

·         European Venture Philanthropy Association –http://www.evpa.eu.com/  

·         Institute of Fundraising – http://www.institute-of-fundraising.org.uk/  

·         Media Trust – http://www.mediatrust.org/  

·         Resource Alliance – http://www.resource-alliance.org/  

·         Volunteering England – http://www.volunteering.org.uk/  

 
UK and EU Government Departments

·         Companies House – http://www.companieshouse.gov.uk/  

·         10 Downing Street – http://www.number-10.gov.uk/output/Page1.asp  

·         Cabinet Office – http://www.cabinetoffice.gov.uk/  

·         Department for Business, Innovation and Skills – http://www.bis.gov.uk/

·         Department for Education – http://www.dfes.gov.uk/  

·         Department for Culture Media & Sport – http://www.culture.gov.uk/  

·         Department for International Development – http://www.dfid.gov.uk/  

·         Department for Work & Pensions – http://www.dwp.gov.uk/  

·         Department of Communities & Local Government – http://www.communities.gov.uk/corporate/  

·         Department of the Environment, Food and Rural Affairs – http://www.defra.gov.uk/  

·         Department of Health – http://www.dh.gov.uk/en/index.htm  

·         Environment Agency – http://www.environment-agency.gov.uk/  

·         Equality and Human Rights Commission – http://www.equalityhumanrights.com/

·         EU Monitor – http://www.eumonitor.net/

·         European Commission – http://ec.europa.eu/index_en.htm  

·         Her Majesty’s Treasury – http://www.hm-treasury.gov.uk/  

·         HM Revenue & Customs – http://www.hmrc.gov.uk/  

·         Home Office – http://www.homeoffice.gov.uk/  

·         Homes & Communities Agency – http://www.homesandcommunities.co.uk/

·         House of Commons Public Information Office – http://www.parliament.uk/directories/hcio.cfm  

·         House of Lords Journal and Information Office – http://www.parliament.uk/about_lords/lordshro/offices.cfm  

·         Housing Corporation – http://www.housingcorp.gov.uk/  

·         Information Commissioner’s Office (Data Protection Registrar) – http://www.ico.gov.uk/  

·         Learning & Skills Council – http://www.lsc.gov.uk/  

·         Ministry of Justice – http://www.justice.gov.uk/  

·         Natural England – http://www.naturalengland.org.uk/  

·         Office of Public Sector Information (formerly HMSO) – http://www.opsi.gov.uk/  

·         Police – http://police.homeoffice.gov.uk/community-policing/  

·         Skills Funding Agency – http://skillsfundingagency.bis.gov.uk/

·         Tenant Services Authority – http://www.tenantservicesauthority.org/

·         UK Statistics Authority – http://www.statistics.gov.uk/

·         Young People’s Learning Agency – http://www.ypla.gov.uk/

 
Regional Government

·         Local Government Information Unit – https://member.lgiu.org.uk/Pages/default.aspx

·         East of England Development Agency – http://www.eeda.org.uk/  

·         East Midlands Development Agency – http://www.emda.org.uk/main/  

·         South East England Development Agency – http://www.seeda.co.uk/  

·         South West England Regional Development Agency – http://www.southwestrda.org.uk/  

·         London Development Agency – http://www.lda.gov.uk/  

·         Advantage West Midlands RDA – http://www.advantagewm.co.uk/  

·         Yorkshire Forward RDA – http://www.yorkshire-forward.com/www/index.asp  

·         Northwest England Regional Development Agency – http://www.nwda.co.uk/